Indiana State Sycamores men’s basketball

The Indiana State Sycamores Football is the NCAA Division I men’s basketball Schedule of Indiana State University at Terre Haute.

They now compete in the Missouri Valley Conference. The team played at the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament in 2011.
The Sycamores‘ first season was 1896, which makes them the earliest basketball team from the NCAA alongside Washington, Minnesota and Bucknell ; however, the documents from 1896 to 1899 no longer exist. The Sycamores boast two College Players of the Year, 14 All-Americans, 39 1,000-point scorers and 1,496 victories. They are placed by their success count . [4][5]
Additionally, the Sycamores have 26 Post-Season Appearances (7 NCAA, 4 NIT, 1 CBI, 1 CIT, 12 NAIA and the 1936 Olympic Trials) with 5 National Championship Appearances (2 NCAA, 3 NAIA). Seven Sycamores were members of the 1951 Pan-American Games Gold Medal-winning team. The most memorable season of the Sycamore was 1978–79, when star Larry Bird led an undefeated team to its first-ever NCAA Championship appearance, as well as the UPI National title. However, it ended the season; and lost the national title game versus the Magic Johnson-led Michigan State group. This is the strangest run by a first-time player at the Division I championship, and one of only 3 times a first-time team has progressed as far as the Final Four (UNCC in 1977 and Georgia in 1983). They wouldn’t have yet another postseason appearance.
The Sycamores were the National Runner-Up at the NCAA College Division (now Div II) in 1968; they won the NAIA National Championship in 1950, had NAIA Finals appearances in 1946 & 1948 and NAIA National Semifinals appearances in 1949 & 1953. The Sycamores were led by All-Americans, Duane Klueh, Dick Atha and Lenny Rzeszewski. As the program transitioned from NAIA to the NCAA, one last NAIA highlight was Ray Goddard leading the Nation in FT percentage (91.2percent )[6] during the 1961-62 season. Former Head Coaches comprise the legendary John Wooden, Purdue All-American Dave Schellhase, Indiana coaching legend Glenn M. Curtis and famous college coaches such as Bob King, Royce Waltman, Tates Locke and Ron Greene. Former assistants Incorporate current collegiate head coaches like Thad Matta (Butler, Xavier, Ohio State), Rick Ray (Mississippi State, Southeast Missouri), Kareem Richardson (Missouri-Kansas City), Phil Hopkins (Western Carolina), Mel Garland (IUPUI), Stan Gouard (Indianapolis) and NBA Great Mel Daniels.
The Indiana State Sycamores men’s basketball team currently play their home games in Hulman Center (10,200) and are trained by Greg Lansing.

Read more here:

Comments are closed.