FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup, often simply called the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the older men’s national groups of those members of the F??d??ration Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body. The championship has been given every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held due to the Second World War. The current champion is France, which won its second title at the 2018 tournament in Russia.
The present format of the competition involves a eligibility period, which currently occurs within the previous three decades, to ascertain which groups qualify for the tournament period, which is often called the World Cup Finals. Next, 32 teams, such as the mechanically qualifying host country (s), compete in the tournament period for the title at places within the host nation(s) within a period of about a month.
The 21 World Cup tournaments have been won by eight national teams. Brazil have won five occasions, and they’re the only group to have played in every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four names each; Argentina, France and inaugural winner Uruguay, with just two names each; and England and Spain with one title each.
The World Cup is the most prestigious institution football tournament in the world, as well as the most widely viewed and followed sporting event in the world, exceeding even the Olympic Games; the cumulative viewership of matches of the 2006 World Cup was likely to be 26.29 billion with an estimated 715.1 million people watching the final match, a ninth of the whole population of the planet. [1][2][3][4]
17 countries have hosted the World Cup. Brazil, France, Italy, Germany and Mexico have each hosted double, while Uruguay, Switzerland, Sweden, Chile, England, Argentina, Spain, the USA, Japan and South Korea (collectively ), South Africa and Russia have each hosted once. Qatar are intended as hosts of the 2022 finals, also 2026 will be jointly hosted by Canada, the United States and Mexico, which will provide Mexico the distinction of being the first nation to have hosted matches in three finals.
The world’s first global football game was a challenge game played in Glasgow in 1872 between Scotland and England,[5] which finished in a 0–0 draw. The very first international tournament, the inaugural British Home Championship, took place in 1884. [6] As football grew in popularity in other areas of the world at the onset of the 20th century, it was held as a demonstration game with no medals awarded in the 1900 and 1904 Summer Olympics (but the International Olympic Committee has retroactively upgraded their standing to official events), and at the 1906 Intercalated Games. [7]
Following FIFA was founded in 1904, it tried to organize an international soccer tournament between nations away from the Olympic frame in Switzerland in 1906. All these were very early days for international soccer, and also the official history of FIFA describes the competition as having been a failure. [8]
At the 1908 Summer Olympics in London, soccer became an official competition. Planned by The Football Association (FA), England’s soccer governing body, the occasion was for amateur players only and was considered suspiciously as a show rather than a contest. Fantastic Britain (represented by the England national amateur football team) won the gold awards. They repeated the feat at the 1912 Summer Olympics in Stockholm.
With the Olympic event continuing to be contested only between amateur teams, Sir Thomas Lipton organised the Sir Thomas Lipton Trophy tournament in Turin in 1909. The Lipton championship was a championship involving individual clubs (not federal teams) from various nations, each one of which represented an entire nation. The contest may be described as The First World Cup,[9] and featured the most prestigious professional club sides from Italy, Germany and Switzerland, but the FA of England refused to be associated with the rivalry and declined the offer to ship a professional team. Lipton invited West Auckland, an amateur side from County Durham, to signify England instead. West Auckland won the tournament and returned in 1911 to successfully defend their title.
In 1914, FIFA agreed to reevaluate the Olympic tournament as a“world football championship for amateurs“, and took responsibility for handling the occasion. [10] This paved the way for the world’s first intercontinental soccer competition, in the 1920 Summer Olympics, contested by Egypt and 13 European groups, and won by Belgium. [11] Uruguay won the next two Olympic soccer tournaments in 1924 and 1928. These were the first two available world championships, as 1924 was the start of FIFA’s professional era.

Read more here:

Comments are closed.